skip to main content

Fourth Grade


Mrs. Rivera
Hi everyone! My name is Kara Rivera and I am thrilled to be joining the Pioneer family! I am originally from Illinois, and I’ve been living in California since I was in high school. I currently live in Auburn with my husband and my two small dogs, Luna and Marlie. My husband has his own landscape/construction business, so we are lucky that we get to travel together every summer. In my free time, I like to read, write, draw, knit, learn Spanish, work in my yard, go out to eat or for coffee with friends, and go to the dog park or walk through the park near my house with my husband and my dogs. I am a super positive person, and my passions are teaching, dogs, ALL animals, and Hello Kitty (which anyone who comes into my classroom will see…) My dream is to one day own and operate a small farm animal sanctuary. I can’t wait to meet all of you. Here’s to a great 2022-2023!!

Mitchell_Ruby Card IconMitchell Ruby

Mr. Ruby on an elephant!
My name is Mr. Ruby and I am excited to join Pioneer.  This will be my sixteenth year of teaching.  About half of that time was here in Sacramento, and before that I taught in San Leandro, California.  
I have been married for 15 years and I have a twelve-year-old son and nine-year-old daughter.  My family loves to play sports and games, get outdoors, and read together.  
As a teacher, I am passionate about having fun with math, finding new great chapter books, and helping kids follow their curiosities.  I can't wait to meet everybody.
Oh... and every once in a while, I can do a magic trick or two.

Alicia_Todd Card IconAlicia Todd

Todd family
Hi, my name is Alicia Todd and this is my 23rd year of teaching. This is my ninth year at Pioneer and I absolutely love teaching here. I enjoy the relationships that I have started building with the students and families here at Pioneer. I have taught Kindergarten, First, Second, and now Fourth grade. I have been married for 20 years and have two beautiful daughters. Isabella is 19 yrs old and Jillian is 15. I love teaching, but when I am not, I LOVE to read, cook, travel, and spend time with my family. It is my goal as your child's teacher to inspire him/her to extraordinary achievement every day and help them become the best at what they do both socially and academically.